APM refreshed for APM Body of Knowledge 6th edition

From the end of last month, the APM Introductory Certificate (The APM Project Fundamentals Qualification) and APMP (The APM Project Management Qualification) have been refreshed and aligned with the APM Body of Knowledge 6th edition. The move marks the latest step in a refresh and review of the APM qualifications suite, supporting project management professionals throughout their career, according to APM.

"We recognise the importance of keeping our examinations fresh and relevant, so they reflect the knowledge that you have, the work that you do and the skills that you have developed," explains Liz Wilson, Head of Professional Standards and Knowledge at APM. "There will be more announcements throughout 2014 including new qualifications, as we continue to develop and adapt to the changes and demands of the profession."

The APM Introductory Certificate has been re-named the APM Project Fundamentals Qualification . The exam format remains a one hour exam with 60 questions. The contents of the exam are described in The APM Project Fundamentals Qualification syllabus, and shows that the overall learning outcomes have been restructured to

  • Understand project management and the operating environment
  • Understand the project life-cycle
  • Understand the management structure by which projects operate
  • Understand project management planning
  • Understand project scope management
  • Understand scheduling and resource management
  • Understand risk management and issue management
  • Understand project quality management
  • Understand communication in the project environment
  • Understand principles of leadership and teamwork

The APMP has been re-titled the APM Project Management Qualification .Learning outcomes have been restructured under the following headings:

  • Structure of organisations and projects
  • Project life cycle
  • Project contexts and environments
  • Governance and structured methodologies
  • Communication
  • Leadership and teamwork
  • Planning for success
  • Scope Management
  • Schedule and resource management
  • Procurement
  • Risk and issue management
  • Project quality management

New assessment criteria for the APM PQ PractitionerQualification (IPMA Level C) will be issued on the 30th June 2014, with the First date for registration of candidates for new levels C-A on the 5th January 2015. The revised syllabuses, sample papers and guidance notes can all be viewed on APM's website pages:

Read More